FAQs

What is residual credit insurance? 

Residual credit insurance is an important additional product to supplement credit and leasing agreements. The payment obligations resulting from credit and leasing agreements are protected against the risks of death, inability to work and unemployment through residual credit insurance. In many cases illness is insured as well. When a mortgage is taken out many providers also call this residual debt insurance or credit insurance.

How can I take out residual credit insurance?

Residual credit insurance can only be taken out through our product partners in connection with a credit or leasing agreement. Some of our important partners who can arrange residual credit insurance for you are Bank Deutsches Kraftfahrzeuggewerbe GmbH (BDK), Hanseatic Bank, OTTO (GmbH & Co KG) or Quelle. They will be pleased to help you.

Who can be insured?

Insurance coverage is generally available to every natural person whose place of residence is in Germany and who is of age on the commencement of the policy, if and to the extent that they are a borrower under a credit agreement. This can also be a credit card.

Why should the loan instalments be protected against the insurable risks? 

As a borrower or lessee you pay monthly instalments. The loss of income if you lose your job or become unable to work is usually substantial. 30 % of the population, for example, would not be able to maintain their standard of living for even 3 months in such a situation, as studies have shown. Then they often find that they can no longer pay the instalments. If you take out residual credit insurance we will pay the instalments during this time, thus taking the burden off your shoulders.*. In the event of death your survivors will be relieved of the burden of repaying the loan as we will redeem it with a single payment.

How are the premiums paid?

You pay the premiums monthly together with your loan or leasing instalment.

What length of time should be selected for residual credit insurance?

The term of the insurance depends on how long you have to pay your instalments.

What is the advantage of residual credit insurance in comparison with a classical term insurance policy?

You should consider that the risks of being unable to work and of unemployment or sickness cannot be covered by traditional term insurance. A further advantage is that you can take out such a policy without first having a medical examination. Your existing life insurance policies might also not take account of the payment obligations that your survivors will have due to outstanding loan instalments. Avoid passing on debts to your heirs and protect your family by taking out residual credit insurance! For if the classical term insurance policy that you may have already taken out also has to be used to pay off the loan, your survivors may be left with only a small amount to safeguard their standard of living.

What benefits are paid in the event of death?

In the event of death the outstanding credit balance is paid off in a lump sum up to the maximum benefit agreed in the contract.*

What is meant by “inability to work”?

Inability to work is the case if you are unable to work in your previous occupation or to carry out any other job that you could do based on your previous experience or education, as a result of a health disorder – whether this is due to illness or the result of an accident.

What benefits are paid in the case of inability to work?

In the case of inability to work we pay the monthly loan or leasing instalment. It is possible for multiple benefits to be paid under residual credit insurance if someone is repeatedly unable to work.*

What benefits are paid in the event of serious illness?

In the event of serious illness the outstanding credit balance is paid off in a lump sum up to the maximum benefit agreed under the contract.*

When do we pay insurance benefits in the event of inability to work?

First of all, we check whether the inability to work that has been reported has been caused by an insured event. The insurance covers accidents and all illnesses that are not explicitly excluded in your contract if they were not already known one year before the commencement of the policy and have resulted in inability to work within 24 months of taking out the policy. If the contract contains no exclusions you will receive your insurance benefits at the end of the contractual restriction period.

What is a restriction period?

For inability to work and unemployment insurance a restriction period is agreed which covers the time between the date of the claim and the start of our obligation to provide benefits.

What is a waiting period?

After you have taken out unemployment insurance there first begins a waiting period in which we have no obligation to provide benefits. This period was agreed in order to exclude claims for losses that were already known at the time when the contract was formed.

What benefits are provided if I should become unemployed through no fault of my own?

In the case of unemployment the insurance pays the agreed monthly instalment resulting from the insured payment obligation. It is possible for multiple benefits to be paid under residual credit insurance if someone repeatedly becomes unemployed. *

When do benefits have to be provided in the case of unemployment?

Benefits are provided if you have become unemployed through no fault of your own – and after the expiry of the waiting periods and restriction periods agreed in your contract.

What am I “unemployed through no fault of my own”?

The insured person has a contract of employment and is dismissed. The insured person registers as unemployed, actively seeks a new job and is not in gainful employment. The insured person receives unemployment benefit of type I or type II.

How can I make a claim under the insurance?

Simply report your claim to your lending bank or to the company to which you pay your instalments. After you have reported your claim we will contact you and request the documents we require. Further information about this can be found here: Download documents.

By when do I have to report my claim?

Report your claim as soon as possible after the loss event.

Why are the benefits paid directly to the credit bank or the retailer who sold me the item purchased on credit and not to me?

By taking out residual credit insurance you have agreed that all benefits under the insurance are to be irrevocably paid to the lender or lessor to be credited to your credit account or merchandise account.

What is default protection insurance?

Default means that you as a consumer, tenant, buyer, borrower or the owner of a business are not able to meet your obligations. This is the case if you are unable to pay your bills for your ongoing expenses due to unemployment, for example, rent, electricity, telephone, or if you own a small business and are not able to execute your orders due to serious illness and therefore have no income, but still have to pay the instalments for the company car or machinery.

Whom do I contact if I want to make a complaint or am dissatisfied after making a claim or while a claim is being processed? 

In this case please first call our claim service on 040 64603-140 and ask to be put through to Claims Management or send an email to: meinung@societegenerale-insurance.de

* The respective Standard Terms of Insurance apply.

FAQs

Was ist eine Restkreditversicherung?

Eine Restkreditversicherung ist ein wichtiges Zusatzprodukt zu Kredit- und Leasingverträgen. Die sich aus Kredit- und Leasingverträgen ergebenden Zahlungsverpflichtungen werden im Rahmen einer Restkreditversicherung gegen die Risiken Tod, Arbeitsunfähigkeit und Arbeitslosigkeit abgesichert. Oft ist auch der Krankheitsfall abgesichert. Bei Immobiliendarlehen nennen manche Anbieter diese Versicherung auch Restschuldversicherung oder Kreditversicherung.

Wie kann ich eine Restkreditversicherung abschließen?

Der Abschluss einer Restkreditversicherung ist nur in Verbindung mit einem Kredit- oder Leasingvertrag über unsere Produktpartner möglich. Bedeutende Partner von uns, die Ihnen eine Restkreditversicherung vermitteln können, sind die Bank Deutsches Kraftfahrzeuggewerbe GmbH (BDK), die Hanseatic Bank, OTTO (GmbH & Co KG) oder Quelle. Dort hilft man Ihnen gerne weiter.

Wer kann versichert werden?

Der Beitritt zum Versicherungsschutz ist grundsätzlich für jede natürliche Person mit Wohnsitz in Deutschland möglich, die zum Zeitpunkt des Versicherungsbeginns volljährig ist, wenn und soweit sie Kreditnehmerin oder Kreditnehmer eines Kreditvertrags ist. Dabei kann es sich auch um eine Kreditkarte handeln.

Warum sollten die Kreditraten gegen die versicherbaren Risiken abgesichert werden?

Als Kredit- oder Leasingnehmer zahlen Sie monatlich Ihre Raten. Die Einkommenseinbußen bei Arbeitsplatzverlust oder Arbeitsunfähigkeit sind i. d. R. erheblich. So sind zum Beispiel 30 % der Bevölkerung im Falle der Arbeitslosigkeit keine 3 Monate im Stande, ihren Lebensstandard aufrechtzuerhalten, wie Untersuchungen belegen. Die Raten können dann oft nicht mehr gezahlt werden. Bei Abschluss einer Restschuldversicherung übernehmen wir in dieser Zeit die Ratenzahlung und entlasten Sie damit*. Im Todesfall werden Ihre Hinterbliebenen von der Rückzahlung des Darlehens entlastet, da es von uns in einer Summe abgelöst wird.

Wie erfolgt die Beitragszahlung?

Sie zahlen die Versicherungsbeiträge monatlich zusammen mit Ihrer Kredit- bzw. Leasingrate.

Welche Dauer ist für eine Restkreditversicherung zu wählen?

Die Versicherungsdauer richtet sich nach der Dauer Ihrer Ratenzahlungsverpflichtung.

Welchen Vorteil hat eine Restkreditversicherung im Vergleich zu einer klassischen Risikolebensversicherung?

Bedenken Sie, dass die Risiken Arbeitsunfähigkeit und Arbeitslosigkeit oder Krankheit sich nicht durch eine herkömmliche Risikolebensversicherung abdecken lassen. Ein weiterer Vorteil besteht in der Aufnahme in den Versicherungsvertrag ohne vorherige Gesundheitsprüfung. Ihre bereits existierenden Lebensversicherungen berücksichtigen möglicherweise auch nicht die Zahlungsverpflichtungen, die Ihren Hinterbliebenen aus noch ausstehenden Kreditraten entstehen. Vermeiden Sie es, Schulden zu vererben und schützen Sie Ihre Familie mit dem Abschluss einer Restkreditversicherung! Denn: Muss aus der im Todesfall zur Auszahlung kommenden klassischen Risikolebensversicherung, die Sie vielleicht schon abgeschlossen haben, auch noch der Kredit abbezahlt werden, bleibt Ihren Hinterbliebenen vielleicht nur ein geringer Betrag, um ihren Lebensstandard zu sichern.

Welche Leistung wird im Todesfall erbracht?

Im Todesfall wird der noch ausstehende Kreditsaldo bis zur im Vertrag vereinbarten Höchstleistungssumme in einem Betrag geleistet*.

Was ist unter Arbeitsunfähigkeit zu verstehen?

Arbeitsunfähigkeit liegt vor, wenn Sie infolge einer Gesundheitsstörung außer Stande sind, Ihren bisherigen Beruf oder eine andere Tätigkeit auszuüben, die Sie aufgrund Ihrer bisherigen Erfahrung oder Ausbildung ausüben könnten – ob durch eine Erkrankung oder als Folge eines Unfalls.

Welche Leistung wird bei Arbeitsunfähigkeit erbracht?

Bei Arbeitsunfähigkeit wird die monatliche Kredit- oder Leasingrate von uns gezahlt. Mehrfachleistungen der Restschuldversicherung wegen wiederholter Arbeitsunfähigkeit sind möglich.*

Welche Leistung wird bei schwerer Krankheit erbracht?

Im Falle einer schweren Erkrankung wird der noch ausstehende Kreditsaldo bis zur im Vertrag vereinbarten Höchstleistungssumme in einem Betrag geleistet*.

Wann erbringen wir eine Versicherungsleistung im Falle von Arbeitsunfähigkeit?

Wir prüfen zunächst, ob die gemeldete Arbeitsunfähigkeit durch einen versicherten Umstand eingetreten ist. Versichert sind Unfälle und alle in Ihrem Vertrag nicht ausdrücklich ausgeschlossenen Erkrankungen, sofern sie nicht bereits ein Jahr vor dem Versicherungsbeginn bekannt waren und innerhalb der 24 Monate nach Vertragsabschluss zur Arbeitsunfähigkeit führten. Liegen keine Leistungsausschlüsse vor, erhalten Sie die Ihnen zustehende Versicherungsleistung nach Ablauf der vertraglich vereinbarten Karenzzeit.

Was ist unter Karenzzeit zu verstehen?

Für die Arbeitsunfähigkeits- und die Arbeitslosigkeitsversicherung ist eine Karenzzeit vereinbart, die den Zeitraum zwischen dem Datum des Schadensfalls und dem Beginn der Leistungspflicht beschreibt.

Was ist unter Wartezeit zu verstehen?

Nach Abschluss der Arbeitslosigkeitsversicherung beginnt die Wartezeit, in der keine Leistungspflicht besteht. Dieser Zeitraum wurde vereinbart, um Leistungsfälle auszuschließen, die bereits bei Vertragsabschluss bekannt waren.

Welche Leistung wird bei unverschuldeter Arbeitslosigkeit erbracht?

Bei Arbeitslosigkeit wird die vereinbarte monatliche Rate aus der versicherten Zahlungsverpflichtung geleistet. Mehrfachleistungen der Restschuldversicherung wegen wiederholter Arbeitslosigkeit sind möglich.

Wann besteht Leistungspflicht im Falle von Arbeitslosigkeit?

Die Leistung wird erbracht, sofern Sie unverschuldet arbeitslos geworden sind – und nach Ablauf vertraglich vereinbarter Warte- und Karenzzeiten.

Wann liegt „unverschuldete Arbeitslosigkeit“ bei Arbeitnehmern vor?

Der Versicherte wird aus einem Arbeitsverhältnis heraus gekündigt Der Versicherte meldet sich arbeitslos, sucht aktiv nach einer neuen Arbeit und ist nicht gegen Entgelt tätig Der Versicherte bezieht Arbeitslosengeld I oder II.

Wie kann ich meinen Versicherungsschutz in Anspruch nehmen?

Melden Sie Ihren Schadenfall einfach bei Ihrer kreditgebenden Bank oder dem Unternehmen, an das Sie die Ratenzahlung leisten. Nach der Meldung des Schadenfalls setzen wir uns mit Ihnen in Verbindung und fordern die benötigten Unterlagen bei Ihnen an. Nähere Informationen hierzu finden Sie hier: Dokumente herunterladen.

Bis wann muss ich meinen Schaden melden?

Melden Sie Ihren Schadensfall möglichst kurzfristig nach Eintritt des Schadensfalls.

Warum wird die Leistung direkt an die Kreditbank oder den Händler der finanzierten Anschaffung gezahlt und nicht an mich?

Mit Ihrem Beitritt zur Restkreditversicherung haben Sie sich damit einverstanden erklärt, dass alle Leistungen aus der Versicherung unwiderruflich an den Darlehens- bzw. Leasinggeber zugunsten Ihres Kreditkontos bzw. Ihres Warenkontos erbracht werden.

Was ist mit Zahlungsausfallschutz gemeint?

Zahlungsausfall heißt, dass Sie als Verbraucher, Mieter, Käufer, Darlehensnehmer oder Firmeninhaber Ihren Verpflichtungen nicht nachkommen können. Das geschieht, wenn Sie aufgrund von Arbeitslosigkeit Ihre Rechnungen für laufende Kosten nicht bezahlen können: z.B. Miete, Strom, Telefon. Oder wenn Sie aufgrund von einer schweren Krankheit als Inhaber eines kleinen Betriebes die Aufträge nicht erledigen können, somit keine Einnahmen haben, aber die Raten für das Firmenfahrzeug oder Maschinen anfallen.

An wen wende ich mich, wenn ich mich nach einem Schadenfall oder währenddessen beschweren möchte oder unzufrieden bin?

Dann rufen Sie bitte zunächst unseren Schadenservice an unter der Rufnummer 040 64603-140 und lassen sich mit dem Beschwerdemanagement verbinden. Oder senden Sie eine E-Mail an: meinung@societegenerale-insurance.de

* Es gelten die jeweiligen Allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen